Gardening indoors using Hydroponics

I started hydroponic gardening a couple of weeks ago. It is a soilless way to garden. You can grow herbs, flowers, vegetables etc. So far, I planted two pepper plants, two tomato plants, one eggplant. For herbs, I planted basil, rosemary, thyme, sage, chives, parsley. There are three sets of grow ( full spectrum or aquarium lights) above the units. I purchased three black troughs from home depot, and used existing circulation pumps to move the water. The plants are suspended in the nutrient solution without soil. They are kept in place by the use of stones and or pebbles. The nutrient solution is a complete solution with all the ingredients a plant needs to grow including micronutrients and trace elements. The basil looks great. I am also using the unit to feed my begonias as well. More details to follow. There are no use of pesticides and it is fully organic. I use these herbs when cooking and harvest them fresh from the hydroponic unit. They are all gluten free, natural and some of the herbs are used in homeopathy and integrative medicine for healing such as the peppermint plant. Peppermint is known to be soothing to the stomach. One can take a few leaves and add it to tea.

This is my own home made unit- cost about $100

This is my own home made unit- cost about $100

Leave a Reply

