Holiday party eating

Two days ago, on Sunday, I hosted a holiday party for 40 people. The food included, salad, fresh cut vegetables, hummus, guacamole, salsa, tortilla chips, potato chips, cole slaw, rye bread to make open roast beef sandwiches. There were meatballs in tomato sauce and pasta with mushrooms and onions. There was also sliced roast beef, sliced lamb, penne pasta with mushrooms and tomato sauce, sweet potato casserole with walnuts, cabbage soup, mushroom barley vegetable soup, chicken soup with dumplings. For dessert there was 3″ individual raspberry tortes, banana bread, babka chocolate cake, fudge brownies, chocolate chip cookies, and a fresh fruit platter that included watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, grapes and pineapple.

beverages included red wine, white wine, sugar containing sodas and diet sodas. The bottled water seemed to be a popular option. All 24 bottles were gone as well as the 6 bottles of pelligrino sparkling water.

Every time I tried to eat something- the doorbell rang and I ended up greeting another guest. I ended up having a slice of lamb, a slice of roast, some fresh veggies, I also had one meatball and some more vegetables. I drank some sparkling water about two glasses and spent most of my time entertaining my guests.

At holiday parties, it can be a mistake to focus on the food instead of on the people. By focusing on the people and spending time talking to others, you can eat less and maintain a healthy weight during this holiday season.

Tonight I have another party-( This one is at Rutgers- in New Brunswick) which includes a cocktail hour and a sit down full dinner. I will report back tomorrow to let you know how I did.

Leave a Reply

