Is it a Diet or Lifestyle change to improve your health?

Yesterday At our post new years holiday party- there was

a platter of fresh veggies ( carrots, zucchini, peppers, broccoli, mushrroms),

a platter of chips, fried chicken eggrolls, fried mozzarella sticks, with dipping sauces,

a platter of ham, mozzarella, fried mushrooms and fried peppers

chicken wings with dipping sauces.

There is a eating for life plan that promotes fresh or cooked fruits and vegetables as the majority of your diet because they contain a lot of nutrients. This plan also endorses nuts and beans and tries to limit the intake of saturated fats in the diet. The American diet is high in saturated fats, sugar, processed foods and low in nutrients. This may be one of the reasons why people overeat – in order to get in all the nutrients they need.

I started this style of eating a week ago, and am eating 5 fresh fruit a day ( banana, apple, orange, blueberries etc). I ALSO am eating stewed vegetable soups containing carrots, broccoli, brussel sprouts, kidney beans and chickpeas.

I will try to limit meat intake to once a week and I will try to limit fish intake to once or twice a week as well.

Last night for dinner I had a fresh salad with spinach,  lettuce, kidney beans, carrots, broccoli and then went to the party where I had more fresh vegetables while others ate the chicken wings and fried foods.

I recently recommended this eating pattern to a 58 year old diabetic patient with hypertension and high cholesterol who is 5ft 5 and weighs 270. He is in the early stages of kidney disease from his adult onset diabetes and needs to lose weight and improve his blood pressure from diet in addition to the medications he is presently on.

I would people to comment on what they think of the above eating habits. Do you think it is possible for this patient to overcome his present condition by nutritional medicine.

5 thoughts on “Is it a Diet or Lifestyle change to improve your health?

  1. This seems like a good diet, but what about protein? Isn’t that a necessary part of any diet? I have recently radically changed my eating habits, and am eating a lot more fruits and veggies than I used to, and far less carbs. I’m actually finding it difficult to fit protein in. I’ve never been big on red meat, but I’m trying to eat chicken. How do you yourself feel physically with the limited protein you consume? Or are there some veggies high in protein? Sorry for all the questions. I’m kinda new to this, and have heard all my life that PROTEIN is key. LOL Just trying to figure it all out.

  2. From Dr Furhmans Book ( google him) on eat to live- he stresses that in a high vegetable and fruit diet, including beans and nuts, there is enough protein. I feel fine with the amount of protein I have taken in and realize that fruits and vegetables and beans and nuts all contain protein without the saturated fat in meat, without the mercury in fish. Chicken in moderation, and fish in moderation is fine- I question whether we need it daily- given all the other protein choices such as fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts and beans.

  3. Thank you for your answers. It’s very interesting, and I think you may be right about the beans and nuts, which I hadn’t even considered. Like I said, I’m new to not just stuffing everything I see in my mouth. I will absolutely google Dr Furhman. Again, thank you for your response.

  4. How much fruit is okay on this diet? Since fruit breaks down into simple sugars, wouldn’t you want to have a diabetic patient limit the amount of fruits they eat? And what about ‘good’ saturated fats like coconut oil versus those found in red meat?

  5. the fruits may convert to sugar, but they are more slowly absorbed into the blood because of their fiber content. So it doesn’t affect the blood sugar as refined carbohydrates such as white flour- bagels, bread- etc. About 5 fruits a day would be a good start. At least one at each meal. A lot of bulk, low in calories, high in nutrients. The kind of saturated fats you don’t want are the kind that are solid at room temperature- like in red meat, butter etc.

Leave a Reply

