Food that cross react with wheat in Celiac

There are foods that the immune system recognizes as gluten in addition to wheat, rye, and barely. This process is called cross-reactivity

A few examples of such foods include, casein ( milk protein)

corn, yeast, millet, rice, sesame, soy

Some hidden sources of gluten include modified food starch, food emulsifiers, food stabilizers, artificial coloring, processed ketchup, mustard, certain salad dressings, deli meats, beer, soy sauce, and shampoos.

Advertisements

Leaky Gut, is Permeable- celiac

The term leaky gut refers to a part of the intestinal tract, stomach, small intestines, that becomes permeable due to exposure to a virus, bacteria, parasite, stressor, chemical, environmental toxin. Once permeable the immune system becomes involved in trying to rid the body of the stressor by producing antibodies and cells that fight their battle. The immune system may  make antibodies that cant tell the difference between healthy tissue and the offending agent ( as in the case of Celiac autoimmune disease to gliadin, a protein in wheat, rye, barley ).

What people might not be aware of is cross reactivity.

Cross reactivity means that eating one food can cause a response similar to eating another

cows milk is known to cross react to gluten in grains

Whey protein is known to cross react to rice

Chocolate milk is known to cross react to corn

casomorphin in milk is known to cross react to oats

alpha and B casein in milk is known to cross react with yeast

This is why when a person has a leaky gut, initially it is best to stay away from milk and wheat products, since a permeable intestines may cause milk and wheat proteins to enter the blood and cause inflammation from their proteins.

Its best to wait until the initial insult and the leaky gut has been resolved.

Gluten Free Shopping List

Image

Gluten Free Shopping List

Produce such as fresh fruits and vegetables. Meat fish and poultry. Eggs. Beverages that are 100% fruit juice, coffee, tea,
soft drinks. Vegetable, canola and olive oil. Dairy such as unflavored milk, creme cheese, aged cheese, butter, margarine, cream cheese, cottage cheese, sour cream. Most frozen ice cream and sherbet. Snacks such as potato chips, corn chips, popcorn, rice crackers, nuts and seeds, jello. Canned Tuna, dried beans, lentils, peas and most canned baked beans. Cereals such as cream of rice, grits, puffed rice, plain brown or white rice, corn tacos. Condiments such as Jam and jellies, honey, peanut butter, corn or potato starch, sugar, spices and herbs,. Please read all ingredients despite the suggestions above of anything you purchase and ask questions if unsure of an ingredient.

Gluten-free grains and starches

Image

Gluten-free grains and starches

The following are gluten free grains and starches: Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, flax, corn, flours made from seeds, millet, potato and potato starch or flour, quinoa, rice, rice bran, sago, sorghum, soy, tapioca,

Overlooked sources of Gluten

Image

Overlooked sources of Gluten

beers and lagers, breading, coating mix, communion wafers, croutons, candy, luncheon meats, broth, pasta, sauces, soup base, stuffing, soy sauce, marinades, prescription medicine and supplements, over the counter medicine, lipstick, gloss and balms